Setting Sail to Ghana - Reisverslag uit Kumasi, Ghana van Yanieke Slump - WaarBenJij.nu Setting Sail to Ghana - Reisverslag uit Kumasi, Ghana van Yanieke Slump - WaarBenJij.nu

Setting Sail to Ghana

Door: Yanieke

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Yanieke

06 Augustus 2015 | Ghana, Kumasi

In December last year I was applying for an internship for the Enterprise Growth Services department (EGS) at EY. And now I am here: Ghana. The last couple of weeks have been hectic, especially since the country I was going to, and the project I would be working on, was still unsure. On the 15th of July I got a definite GO for Ghana. In two weeks everything had to be arranged: booking tickets, getting a visa, accommodation, and everything else that needs to be done before getting to the African continent. When I got onto the plane and read about the country, suddenly, everything became real and I got more excited the closer I got to Ghana.

Last Friday was the first time I set foot on the African continent. My colleague Ian picked me up and brought me to the accommodation I will be staying the coming 4 weeks: a wonderful home with everything I could ask for, and even more. So, the last days I got to know Ghana and get used to the customs of Ghana. The one thing that really stands out is the people, who are extremely friendly and helpful. More so, Ghana has that true African feel to it, where everything happens on the street, there are children playing, people walking, and especially people doing business. Everything you can think of is sold on the streets. The reason everything happens outside is because the climate is amazing, temperature is always in between 23 to 35 degrees.

So what will I be doing in the coming weeks? The project I am going to work on is named ‘The Clean Team Project’. Clean Team is a company with a mission to improve sanitation and create affordable sanitation in Ghana (http://cleanteamtoilets.com/). Today, on my first day, I have visited the sight where all the waste is collected and the cartridges are cleaned. Next Thursday, I will be joining one of the waste collectors to experience what their job is. I hope that in this month, I can make a small change in creating an even better Ghana for the people here.

  • 06 Augustus 2015 - 19:18

    Tsjikke:

    Lieve Yannieke. Wat lijkt het nog maar kort geleden, dat jij werd uitgekozen voor deze stage. En nu ben je er al. Schrijf maar geregeld een stukje. Ben heel nieuwsgierig naar je bezigheden daar en vooral de bijzondere Yannieke-dingetjes.
    Liefs en een dikke knuffel!

  • 08 Augustus 2015 - 12:28

    Sanne:

    Hoi Jannnnnnnnice,

    Mooi om te lezen hoe een friesje het er vanaf brengt op het Afrikaanse continent. Klinkt als een hele ervaring. Geniet veel en je zult het ongetwijfeld leuk doen met die krullen tussen de negers.

    Dikke kus van Sanne

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Yanieke

Actief sinds 06 Aug. 2015
Verslag gelezen: 549
Totaal aantal bezoekers 5545

Voorgaande reizen:

31 Juli 2015 - 29 Augustus 2015

Ghana

Landen bezocht: